Experience Lake Jackson

Go To Search
Share this site
25 Oak Drive
PHONE: 979-415-2400
Defensive Driving
You are eligible to take defensive driving if:
  • You are not currently taking or signed up to take a defensive driving course for any other court 
  • You have a valid Texas driver’s license. (Commercial driver’s license holders may not take defensive driving.)
  • You have not taken a defensive driving course in order to have a ticket dismissed within 12 months from the date of your ticket.
  • You have proof that you are covered under a car insurance policy.
  • You have committed one of these traffic violations: Moving violations that are eligible for defensive driving.
To request the driving safety course, you may appear in person or in submit a request in writing by mail.  To take defensive driving you must:
  • Give the court written notice that you want to take defensive driving within 10 days of receiving your ticket. (Click here for court form)
  • Show the court that you have a valid Texas driver’s license along with your written notice.
  • Show the court that you are covered under a car insurance policy along with your written notice.
  • Pay the fee at time of request for the driving safety course. (Click here for methods of payment.)
    • $106.10 for violations outside of a school zone.
    • $131.10 for violations within a school zone.

**Note: Violators 16 years of age or younger must appear in court accompanied by a parent or legal guardian.

Defensive Driving Courses 
Click on the Approved Defensive Driving Courses to view the courses accepted by this court. 

You must send proof that you completed the defensive driving course and send a certified copy of your driver’s record from the Texas Department of Public Safety to the court within 90 days from the date the court gave you permission to take defensive driving. If you do not do this, the court will enter a judgment of conviction, assess fine and a report the conviction to the Texas Department of Public Safety. 

Ineligible Offenses
The following conditions make you ineligible for the driving safety course: 
  • You hold a valid commercial drivers license (CDL) or were operating a commercial motor vehicle (CMV) at the time of the offense
  • Driving in a construction or maintenance zone when workers present 
  • Leaving the scene of an accident after causing damage to a vehicle 
  • Leaving the scene of an accident and failing to give information and/or render aid 
  • Passing a school bus loading or unloading children 
  • Speeding 25 or more miles per hour over the posted speed limit